TrinityCore

Database Installation Step - Confused on what to do

25toten

Hello, I'm new to setting this up and have never used any of these programs before. I've been successful so far following the guide. https://trinitycore.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/tc/pages/2130092/Databases+Installation

I'm at a dead still with the Database Installation page. The terms are fairly ambiguous to someone who barely has any idea what they're doing. I've looked all over this site for a more detailed set of instructions. I'm setting up the 3.3.5a build. Could someone please explain a few of these steps in more detail? 

Creating the Trinity databases in MySQL

To create the MySQL databases needed by Trinity, you need to execute the following MySQL queries:

You can perform this with a MySQL client or with the MySQL command-line interface (CLI).

>What does it mean to execute the following query?

You would need to use one MySQL root account before starting core to run one of those files (use MySQL root only to import one of those files, never run core as root or administrator).

TIP: edit those 2 files and change default password to something else for increased security (remember to edit conf files to use new password).

>What files are they referring to?

Trinity needs three databases to run at 3.3.5 branch and four for master - AuthCharactersWorld and hotfixes (master only):

• auth - holds account data - usernames, passwords, GM access, realm information, etc.
  • characters - holds character data - created characters, inventory, bank items, auction house, tickets, etc.
  • world - holds game-experience content such as NPCs, quests, objects, etc
  • hotfixes (master only) - holds fixes not already added to the core or other official databases.

>These links goes to sites that have nothing meaningful on them. Unsure what this step is all about. 

Populating the MySQL Trinity databases